We envisage the elimination of Gender-Based Violence in all humanitarian crises.

UPCOMING EVENTS

16 Dec

Webinar: Women and Girls Safe Spaces Toolkit

Considered a core element of GBV programming in the GBViE Minimum Standards, Women and Girls’ Safe Spaces (WGSS) are a structured place where women’s and adolescent girls’ physical and emotional safety is respected and where they are supported through processes of empowerment.

The new resource “Women and Girls Safe Spaces: A Toolkit For Women’s and Girls’ Empowerment in Humanitarian Settings” co-created by the International Rescue Committee and International Medical Corps, fills a critical gap in existing guidance by offering a global blueprint for programming which harmonizes the approach used by GBV practitioners while accounting for women and girl-led processes and contextual differences in humanitarian settings. 

This webinar will introduce the toolkit by presenting the core programming principles, approaches and strategies fundamental for cultivating safe and empowering spaces for women and girls which define WGSS programming followed by a detailed overview of the 38 tools and 9 databases the toolkit offers to holistically support staff through 6 key phases of a WGSS project cycle.

Join us on December 16, 2019

10am NYC/ 15h London/ 16h Geneva/ 17h Cairo/ 18h Nairobi/ 20.30 Delhi 
The webinar will be recorded for those who cannot attend due to time zone differences or other reasons. 

Join Melanie Megevand of the International Rescue Committee for this special GBV AOR webinar to answer your questions about the toolkit. 

NEW REPORTS AND EVENTS

SEE ALL

Revictimised: The Humanitarian Consequences of Mandatory Reporting of Sexual Violence - ICRC 2019

Dec 10, 2019 Overview: This paper presents the initial findings from research carried out on the requirement, in certain countries, to report sexual violence cases to law enforcement authoritie...

Energy, Gender, and GBV in Emergencies- IMC & WRC 2019

Dec 06, 2019 The Women's Refugee Commission and Mercy Corps’ Energy in Emergencies: Reducing Risks of Gender-based Violence (EEMRG) project, funded by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of P...

Gender-based violence & psychosocial support - ICGBV 2019

Dec 06, 2019 This Learning Paper gives a brief snapshot of psychosocial support (PSS) and gender-based violence (GBV), including the types of PSS and PSS best practice. It also highlights the n...
SEE ALL

The GBV AoR brings together non-governmental organisations, UN agencies, academics and others under the shared objective of ensuring life-saving, predictable, accountable and effective GBV prevention, risk mitigation and response in emergencies, both natural disaster and conflict-related humanitarian contexts.

woman-with-baby

Key Documents

GBV AoR Strategy 2018-2020

The GBV AoR Strategy 2018-2020 sets out the strategic objectives until 2020.

Inter-Agency Minimum Standards for Prevention and Response to GBV in Emergencies - GBV AoR 2019

This resource presents 16 Minimum Standards for GBV prevention and response programming in emergencies. As a whole, the 16 Minimum Standards defi...

Handbook for Coordinating Gender-Based Violence Interventions in Emergencies

This handbook is a quick-reference tool that provides practical, field-level guidance to establish and maintain a GBV sub-cluster in a humanitari...

Guidelines for Integrating Gender-Based Violence Interventions in Humanitarian Action

These Guidelines provide practical guidance and effective tools for humanitarians and communities to coordinate, plan, implement, monitor and eva...

Where We Are

OUR CORE MEMBERS, OBSERVERS AND DONORS