RECORDING: “For Me, The Justice Is The Truth”: Strengthening Access To Justice For GBV Survivors

Dec 10 ,2020

Access to justice is a human right and is also key to the realization of other rights, including the right to live free from violence, discrimination and inequality.  Upholding women and girls’ rights to access justice after GBV is one element of multisectoral GBV programming in emergencies. Minimum actions for promoting justice and legal aid for GBV survivors are set in the Interagency Minimum Standards for Gender-Based Violence in Emergencies Programming as minimum standard number 10.

Survivor-centred justice systems offer a range of potential benefits for GBV survivors. They can provide protection and remedy, and support healing and recovery of GBV survivors and their families. Yet, in most humanitarian contexts, it is challenging to seek justice for GBV through formal or informal mechanisms – let alone survivor-centred justice.  Many of the barriers survivors face in reporting and seeking protection and remedy stem from the fact that formal and informal legal and justice systems are often based on patriarchal structures and norms that reflect and reinforce gender inequality and discrimination. Further, being survivor-centred means recognizing that justice is multi-faceted and subjective, and that women’s justice perspectives and needs vary widely.

Join the GBV Community of Practice along with the GBV AoR Helpdesk to launch the new Guidance Note on Strengthening Access to Justice for GBV Survivors in Emergencies. We will explore the role of GBV programs in supporting survivors to claim their rights to justice, and in engaging with justice systems to promote women-centred approaches.  

Author, Sophie Read-Hamilton will be joined by Anu Pillay of ActionAid and Tina Musuyu from CEDOVIP for this discussion. You will learn more about strategies for strengthening access to justice for GBV survivors in emergencies, including women-centred approaches.

Date and Time Zone: 10 December 2020, 20h Sydney/ 12h Kampala/ 11h Johannesburg-Athens/ 10h Geneva/ 9h London

The presentation is available here.

[1] Research participant in Goma, DRC, interviewed for ActionAid’s project Making Transitional Justice Work for Women: Rights, Resilience and Responses to Violence Against Women in Democratic Republic of Congo, Northern Uganda and Kenya