Webinar: GBV and Sexual and Gender Minorities in Humanitarian Emergencies, May 17

Categories: News / Training & Events / No CommentsPosted on: May 13, 2019

Date: 17 May 2019
Location: Online
GBV AOR Community of Practice in collaboration with the IAWG Sub-Working Groups on GBV and LGBITQ are happy to present a “Webinar on GBV and Sexual and Gender Minorities in Humanitarian Emergencies.”
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ+) people’s experiences in humanitarian emergencies have been overlooked leading to invisibility in many emergencies and very few specialized services to meet their needs.  In many countries in the world, people of sexual and gender minorities face extraordinarily high levels of sexual and gender based violence yet remain unseen in many GBV programs. 

Join us on May 17, the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia, to learn more about how GBV impacts lesbians, gays, bisexual, transgender and intersex people during humanitarian crises and about how those of different sexual orientation, gender identities or expression, and sex characteristics (SOGIESC) experience violence in Lebanon, Bangladesh, Libya, Kenya, and other settings and learn about a few interesting initiatives  — including tools and community-based initiatives — that address the needs of these vulnerable people. 
Hosts: Sarah Martin, GBV AOR Community of Practice Co-Facilitator and Maria Holtsberg, IAWG GBV working group co-facilitator
Speakers:
Emily Dwyer, Managing Director, Edge Effect and 42 Degrees (https://www.edgeeffect.org and www.42degrees.global)
Dr. Sarah Chynoweth, Sexual Violence Project Director/Consultant,  Women’s Refugee Commission (https://www.womensrefugeecommission.org/svproject
Claire Wilson, Researcher and Consultant, GBV Working Group Lebanon
and 
TBC, HIAS (https://www.hias.org
Date: May 17, 2019
Time: 21h Canberra/Sydney; 19h Kuala Lumpur; 18h Bangkok; 14h Nairobi/Beirut; 13h Berlin/Geneva; 12h London; 7am Washington DC/NYC
Connection Details:
Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone. https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/999395789
You can also dial in using your phone. (For supported devices, tap a one-touch number below to join instantly.)
United Kingdom: +44 330 221 0088
Access Code: 999-395-789
New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts: https://global.gotomeeting.com/install/999395789
For more information: 
Sarah Martin
GBV Community of Practice co-moderator
Skype: Sarah.Martin2

 

No Responses to “Webinar: GBV and Sexual and Gender Minorities in Humanitarian Emergencies, May 17”

Leave a Comment/Feedback/Reply

Briefing Kit